no. 48
header for social media.png
starsystems poster.jpg

Piano Trio, No. 2: Starsystems (2022)

a piano trio in four movements

<Begin Log, ██:██, ██/██/████>
Days since launch: zero. We’re off.
I’m not sure where, but… here we are.

Ready to explore whatever this cosmos has in store for us.
Most of us are coping well. ████ seems to be a bit dazed, but for the most part we’re in good spirits.
It shouldn’t be too long until our first destination.

We’ve picked our four objectives in a way that allows us to avoid staying in those cryosleep chambers for too long.
We’ll update you with our findings. See you at our first starsystem.
Signing off.
<End Log, ██:██>

Piano Trio, No. 2: Starsystems is Zygmund de Somogyi's second piano trio, written in winter of 2021-22.

The piece is split into four movements: Alpha Centauri, Gliese 412, Antares, and Eta Carinae.

Starsystems will be premiered by the Semenov Trio at Royal Birmingham Conservatoire on 21 March 2022, cellist Egor Semenov, violinist Vasco Canastra, and pianist Camila Valerio.

Score and parts are available on request.