no. 38

Portrait and a Dream

Portrait and a Dream: Concealing (2021)

for solo piano, premiered by Fatou Sourang at CODA Festival 2021, facilitated by May Wong and Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Portrait and a Dream: Whispering (2021)

for solo violin, written for Mixtur Festival BCN 2021

Portrait and a Dream: Belonging (2021)

for symphony orchestra, written for Orchestra of Opera North's Minute Masterpieces series

Zygmund de Somogyi's 'Portrait and a Dream' series is a set of short instrumental pieces inspired by the Jackson Pollock painting of the same name (1953). Each piece of 'Portrait and a Dream' is a reflection of a troubled mind: shadows from the composer’s darkest thoughts, insecurities, addictions, and vices,contextualised by the vicious yet enigmatic representation of Pollock’s tumultuous final years.

Currently, there are three finished works as part of 'Portrait and a Dream'. The series is ongoing, with more works being added dependent on thematic and personal relevance.


Perhaps it is the face that stares at us through the brushwork that is the dream — perhaps I see myself within the mesh of black lines, intersecting each other in a state of alexithymic turbulence?

Score and parts are available on request.