Altschmerz: a salient scene reflected
(String Quartet, No. 2 in 31-TET)

no. 30

Altschmerz: a salient scene reflected (2021)

String Quartet, No. 2 in 31-TET

'Altschmerz' is Zygmund de Somogyi's second full-length string quartet, written for Quatuor Bozzini in rural Germany during the winter of 2020-21. The piece is written entirely in the 31-TET scale - an explanation can be found here. 'Altschmerz' was workshopped by Quatuor Bozzini in February 2021 in a livestream facilitated by Royal Birmingham Conservatoire.

Score and parts are available on request.

n. weariness with the same old issues that you’ve always had — the same
boring flaws and anxieties you’ve been gnawing on for years, which leaves
them soggy and tasteless and inert, with nothing interesting left to think
about, nothing left to do but spit them out and wander off to the backyard,
ready to dig up some fresher pain you might have buried long ago.

from the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows